sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Am Going to Hell, and It's Delicious

I Am Going To Hell, and It's Delicious

I was painfully shy when I was a kid, and while I can hold my own in most social situations now as an adult, on a scale from fearless to wienie, pretty much I'd have to seat myself in the wienie section.

Most of the brave things I have done have either been crises, like the time where a security guard went a little postal and the receptionist called me and crazed security guard tried to attack me, but at least I got him out of the reception area - or dares, like the time I ate a Gator McNugget.

I was opening the mail at work this afternoon, and wedged in between some credit card bills and a bank statement was a catalog. A cookie catalog. With pictures of cookies that looked so good you could taste them. I immediately shared this find with my coworker, who agreed that the cookies looked sinfully delicious. She wanted to order some, but the cost of cookies plus shipping was a little steep.

Coworker suggested that I get the boss to buy them, but I am saving my persuasion skills for things like raises and trips to Ireland. Cookies, no matter how good they look, just aren't worth using up my boss points.

Then I had a brilliant idea. We could get FREE SAMPLES. We could call the cookie company, tell them that we are considering using their cookies as a give-away at the big trade show in April, and they would send us FREE SAMPLES. I mentioned that I would be totally lying, and would almost certainly go to hell for it, but then coworker pointed to the life-size pictures of the world's most delicious looking cookies, and my morals completely flew out the window.

Now, calling a company to request sample cookies under false pretenses is not the easiest thing for me to do. I had to bite my lip to keep from erupting into a fit of nervous giggles when I was talking to their customer service department. But I pulled it off. Skillfully I might add. One fax on company letterhead later, and FREE SAMPLES of really good looking cookies are on their way to us.

.


I told you they look really good!


6:55 p.m. - March 21, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle