sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

That�s How They Kill the Ducks, They Give Them Water

That�s How They Kill the Ducks, They Give Them Water.

Mom is doing better. She came home late yesterday afternoon. I didn�t even get any good opiate-induced quotes from her today. The duck quote is from a few days ago. I can�t wait to see the interesting Google searches I get on that one.

Yesterday was pretty awful. I am so sleep deprived that my eyes won�t focus, it was a huge project to get mom packed up and back home, and if I don�t ever see another bedpan or related item it will be quite soon enough.

Tahmi has become my mom emergency go-to person. Mom wanted two people to walk her to the house. So Tahmi came and helped, then stayed while I got mom settled in. I went to go get something, and when I came back mom was hurling, and Tahmi looked like she was about to. Her Minnesota politeness kept her from running out the door when the spewing started, but she was looking a little green.

I was crabbing to myself last night, and I accidentally sort of found my sense of humor. On top of everything else, I am sending out mom�s newsletter for her. Really not a big deal, but right now one more thing, is well one more thing. I sent one newsletter out dated March 20, 2002, and then yesterday�s I somehow screwed up the title. Instead of �Heavenletters�, I somehow made it say �HeaveHeavenletters�. Which is what finally made me crack up. Heave. Bwhahahahahaha.

Mom called me at 4:30 am because she couldn�t get a pill bottle open. I went in, got her back to sleep, and then took a while before I got to sleep again, and as soon as I did Buffy climbed my screen wanting to come in. Finally got back to sleep, then at 7:30 mom called and she�s spilled her morphine pills. I had loosened the cap because child-proof caps are also apparently mom-proof, and they went everywhere. 29 tiny little controlled substances rolled across the room, under her bed, and who knows where else. I crawled around and found all but three of them. Four of them landed, stop reading now Tahmi, in her barf bowl.

Also, I know I am not the first person to complain about hospital food, but I got desperate one day and ordered a hot turkey sandwich. A sandwich, people, how can you mess that up? First of all they were out of turkey, so okay make that a roast beef sandwich. I won�t describe what I received in detail because it would make you queasy, but trust me, it looked totally �recycled�. I also ordered tomato soup., thinking that they�d open up a can of Campbells, and how can you mess up tomato soup? They did.

I promise this will be last barfing-centric entry for a while.

2:02 p.m. - December 19, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle