sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Poseidon Adventure Part 2

The Poseidon Adventure Part 2

The first stop on our cruise was San Juan. Liquor. Nuff said.

The second was St. Martin. It's half Dutch and half French. We took a tour to Marigot on the French side of the island, and did a little shopping in an open air market. Then back on the bus to the Dutch side. I bought a bottle of Guavaberry liqueur, had a guavaberry colada (I was hot and thirsty and it was really good), and then back to the ship. And FYI, I broke my booze-buying streak and also got a few t-shirts and a tote bag.

The next day we docked in St. Thomas. St. Thomas is beautiful. Plus they sell Godiva liqueur cheap. And woohoo - if you get all three flavors, it's even cheaper!

Sarah and I took an excursion to St. John and Trunk Bay. Truly one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. Trunk Bay is rated the second best beach in the world, and I can see why. Perfect sand, warm blue water, gorgeous fish. Sarah already had a gorgeous tan. I ended up with some pink splotches.

Trunk Bay

We had also purchased tickets for the tram on St. Thomas, so after returning from St. John, and more powershopping, we headed over to the tram. Caribbean islands, at least the three I've seen, are pretty mountainous and steep. I am deathly afraid of heights. I took one look at the tram which went practially straight up, and really high, swaying on what looked like a really skinny cable, and my stomach flipped.

The tickets were paid for and nonrefundable, so I gathered my courage and got on. I totally wasted my $12, unless sitting on the tram with a deathgrip on the guard rail with my eyes closed, while whimpering in a very non brave manner is worth $12.

We got back on the ship. Here's what our cabin looked like btw:

I believe it was that night, when there truly wasn't anything to do, that Sarah made me hurt myself laughing when she invented Carnival's new slogan - "Fun Ship, my ass." You probably had to be there.

The rest of the cruise was fairly uneventful, unless you were our Cruise Director, who got knocked down, and well, ridden, on stage.

Also there was George, who after being busted the first night of the cruise for not being romantic by his wife Pat, had to do a dance, then get down on one knee and proclaim his love for her, and promise to give her a yabba dabba doo time every time the Cruise Director mentioned South Carolina. Which he mentioned a lot. Including in port, where George got down on his knee, and attracted quite a crowd.

To be continued....

7:27 p.m. - November 16, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle