sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Poseidon Adventure Part 1

The Poseidon Adventure

Part 1

Got back last night from the cruise. I am soooo happy to be home, and had loads of fun on the ship, the ports, and Key West.

I was afraid that I would get gambling fever as I did in Reno a few years ago, but that was not an issue.

I got alcohol fever instead.

I didn't actually drink alcohol, I just couldn't stop buying it.

San Juan is a beautiful, interesting city. And all I remember about it is the duty free liquor store with Absolut for $8.00 a bottle.

After taking a city and shopping tour of San Juan, my sister Sarah and I stopped into the duty free liquor store at the port. I'm not sure what happened exactly, but the next thing I knew the helpful salesguy was handing me a shopping basket to put my handfuls of liquor into. They had rum! Bacardi that you can't get in the US! Cheap!! And oh look Bailey's for $10, and Kahlua, and Frangelico!!!

Sarah and I made our purchases, with Sarah way outshopping me. She got cool vodkas and lots of rum. We headed back onto the ship, and although they had told us that any liquor purchases would be taken away from us and returned at the end of the cruise, and despite the fact that we obviously had liquor, they didn't take it away from us. Our popularity quotient increased dramatically when our shipmates saw the vast amounts of duty free liquor being transported to our room.

We still had over an hour at the port, and out of curiosity I called the purser's desk to see what the liquor limits were for Puerto Rico. Sarah and I did a happy dance when we found out that there are no limits and headed straight back to the liquor store.

I got mango liqueur from India, and Bacardi Reserva, and Amaretto, and rum-I've-never-heard-of-but-the-liquor-guy-said-was-the-best-they-have.

I headed back to the ship. Sarah stayed in the port to call her boyfriend. This time, they made a big hoohah about my booze, and did take it away from me.

Our deadline for being back on the ship was 11:30, and we were scheduled to sail at midnight. I glanced at the clock. It was 11:30 and Sarah was not back yet. Then 11:35. I walked up to the gangplank and didn't see her anywhere. At 11:50 I called down to the purser's desk and mentioned that I thought that my sister was still in San Juan. I had a quick vision of calling Dad, and her mom, and having to tell them that oopsie Sarah was Puerto Rican now, and also wondered about the ethics of stealing her booze. The purser checked and said that she was on the ship. Whew!

Sarah finally showed up. She had gotten on the ship at 11:30 and had been busy arguing with the liquor confiscation dude about why, when we already had a liquor's store worth of liquor in our room, were they all of a sudden enforcing the confiscation policy, and what happened if they lost it, or broke a bottle, etc.

To be continued.....

12:33 p.m. - November 14, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle