sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You Would Think I'd Look Like Calista Flockhart

You Would Think I�d Look Like Calista Flockhart

Also be careful what you wish for. I again had absolutely nothing to say yesterday, so didn�t post an entry. I mean when I said I�d post every day, I meant almost every day, as long as I had something to say. Instead of Holidailies, I�m doing Holieveryotherdailies, which still is way better than last month when I posted bupkus.

I�m not paranoid or anything, but there seems to be some kind of conspiracy to keep me from eating.

Today for example. I slept late, after feeding cats, etc, I started cooking some eggs for breakfast. I was just warming up the pan, and there�s a knock on the door. It�s Jed, the guy I used to work with at the thrift store, that I have semi-adopted, and now comes by to see if I have any work for him when he needs money.

I told him that egads, I had just started breakfast, not a good time, and he said he really wanted to do some work, so I had him get some of the dead stuff out of the herb garden.

I woofed down two bites of eggs, then went and got Jed, and we started organizing the bookalanche formerly known as my office. I would post before pictures of it, but it might induce seizures. Kelly glanced in the office last time she was here and got immediate traumatic amnesia.

After a few hours of power organizing, I gave Jed a ride to the library. Came home, was just checking to see what books needed to be shipped today, and I heard a crash. Since Spikey moved in there have been a lot of crashes. I pretty much ignore them unless they sound especially heinous.

Then I heard mom calling me. She didn�t sound right. I found her in the bathroom on the floor. She had been standing on a chair, trying to change a lightbulb, and she fell. She landed on the side of the tub (ow!), and her side was really hurting.

I�m still not sure if I should have called an ambulance, or if getting her up, and driving her to the emergency room, which is what I did, was the right thing to do. I am also proud to say that my years of watching ER have paid off, because I knew that she had broken ribs even before the doctor checked her X-Rays and came and told us she had broken ribs. Four of them. Again, ow ow ow.

I got her back home, went to Wal Mart to fill her pain pill prescription, and came back home. We realized that mom going up and down the stairs to her bedroom = not good idea, and our friend from across the street offered to loan a twin bed that we could put in the living room.

I called Tahmi, who being a very good friend, tore herself away from chopping vegetables and helped me carry all of the pieces of the bed from across the street and assemble them.

By the time I made soup for the patient, made the bed, gave mom her pain pills, got her water, it was around 8 p.m. And I was starving. I ran to the store, got some food, gave mom more pain pills, helped her to the bathroom, read her a story, and got her into bed. Now it�s around 10 p.m. I made a quick supper, watched the Hildi Feather Wall episode of Trading Spaces, sat with mom for a while because she couldn't sleep, checked for book orders, and read emails.

It�s been a long day, and I�m exhausted, and please, let this be a lesson - don�t stand on chairs to change lightbulbs, or you could find yourself on one of those I�ve Fallen and I Can�t Get Up commercials.

P.S. Despite my not getting to eat curse, I am not skinny, and by my best estimate, weight as much as 12 Calistas.

12:50 a.m. - December 10, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle