sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Book Entry

The Book Entry

I have been reading like crazy lately. I'm finding wonderful new authors, and as I am officially economizing, have rediscovered the library. Where the books are free unless you forget to return them, in which case one ends up paying the entire national debt of Paraguay in fines. And they don't even name a wing after you.

In case you don't know it yet, Janet Evanovich's books are crack. Totally unputdownable, stayupallnight, sleep with the librarian so he or she will call you when one gets returned crack.

I am not an analytical person, so cannot describe in great detail why her books are so good, but trust me, they are. The characters are good enough that I suspect they could sit around drinking tea and discussing British culture through the whole book and it would still be terrific.

The main character is Stephanie Plum. In the first book, One For the Money, she has been laid off from her job, is dead broke, and kinda accidentally becomes a bail bond recovery agent. I love characters that aren't perfect, and Stephanie sure isn't. There are two, count em, two sexy, hunky potential love interests, plus her family, who are laugh out loud hilarious, and her grandmother, who goes to funerals for entertainment and is a complete and total character. There are 8 Stephanie Plum books so far. I've read 3, and can't wait to read the rest.

My other current favorite author is Suzanne Brockmann. I always carry a book in my purse, and had picked up Out of Control, loved it, and lost it in the bathroom of Sam's in Cedar Rapids. Drove 20 miles each way up and back to find it, but it was gone. Didn't remember the name of the book or the author. Got the shakes, was at a really good part, and had to know how it ended. I thankfully remembered a few of the character's names, did a quick Google, and woohoo! found my book! Don't know how I ever lived without the internet.

I have since read every book of hers I can get my hands on (thanks Deb!), and I have two words for you - Navy Seals. There's just something about a guy that can kill people with a paper clip that makes my heart flutter. Ms. Brockmann also has wonderful characterizations, heart melting romance, and my personal favorites - action and danger.

Hit the library today and picked up some good lookin books:

Jemima J by Jane Green. Read the first few pages and I love it already. Jemima pretends to be something she is not online, and wacky hijinks ensue. Will tell you more after I read it.

Mr. Maybe - also by Jane Green. Main character is in love with the 'wrong' guy and trying to love the 'right' one. Hmmmm... sounds suspiciously familiar...

Long Lost by David Morrell. This is the guy who wrote Rambo. How could you go wrong? Dude's long lost brother returns from the dead and kidnaps his wife and child. Action adventury goodness!

The Scandalous Summer of Sissy LeBlanc by Loraine Deaprea. The cover has a photo of feet in a bubbly pink bathtub, how could I resist? From the inside cover, "She's been living in stifling old Gentry, Louisiana, since she was born, and trapped in a sham of a marriage to PeeWee LeBlanc - who, to be perfectly honest, makes her skin crawl, since she was seventeen. In short, she's fed up, restless, and ready for an adventure. Of course she's never consider cheating on PeeWee, since she vowed back in '41 to remain faithful - but some days she just can't help but pray that some man will come along and lead her into temptation." Sounds like my kinda book.

Wild Designs by Katie FForde - not a typo, we have the double F thing going in her name. "Amid wild roses, California poppies, scarlet flax, sweet rocket, love-in-amist, and, of course, plenty of dirt, Wild Designs is a refreshingly honest and funny read that celebrates the almost-ready-to-bloom aspect of all our lives." I'm down with the ready to bloom thing. will let you know how I like it.

And last but not least, The Dreamweaver 3 Bible. I have Dreamweaver 4, but am hoping it will still answer the mysteries of line spacing and how to make tables respect my authoritay.

Gotta go now, have some major reading to do.

11:15 p.m. - October 01, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle