sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How To Boil Water

How To Boil (Salty) Water

I have always admired food blogs. The fabulous recipes! The secret places to get the best ingredients! The gorgeous food pictures! So I have decided to join in. I found the following recipe on Epicurious, and I will definitely be making it as soon as I can. I was delighted to see that lots of other people have tried this recipe, and found it be quite tasty. Here are a few of the reviews:

A Cook from Dublin, Ireland on 05/01/03

An excellent receipy and one I will cherish dearly and pass on to my grandchildren.

JC Kline from Pocatello, ID on 04/30/03

I found this to be a very simple and easy to prepare recipe. I put the salt a pot before adding the water, although I think that the recipe would work just as well if the water was placed in the pot first and the salt was added afterward. I also found that heateing the water to a gentle boil improved the final dish.

A Cook from Cucamonga, CA on 04/20/05

I got an email from an important-sounding guy in Africa offering to transfer twenty-two million US dollars ($22,000,000) to my bank account if I would provide him with a recipe for boiling salted water and my bank account information. I went to this website, and found it! I immediately forwarded this recipie plus my account information to him. I'm just waiting for the money now! Thanks a million, Epicurious!

A Cook from Chicago, IL on 04/18/03

I've found that if you leave out the salt you can prepare this up to a month ahead and freeze. Just reheat and salt when ready to serve.

A Cook from Rowayton CT on 11/22/03

Too watery

A Cook from Easton, CT on 11/21/03

Too salty.

cheezmont from philly, pa on 04/10/03

Decent... a tad on the salty side, but also a bit bland and watery. Next time will try adding pasta to the water.

And here are even more reviews of this excellent recipe:

More Reviews



Yesterday was my birthday. I spent the day quietly and uneventfully, because I was trying to not bring myself to the attention of the Birthday Curse Gods. I don't know if it is just me, but the day of my birth seems to bring out the universe's inner practical joker.

Usually it is just an exceptionally bad day. Although, one memorable year I got really sick and ended up having two surgeries. Happy birthday to me!

I was hoping this year would be different. First of all. I was turning 29(+16). That's rough enough, you know? By yesterday evening I started to get cocky. The curse had lifted! Other than having to work like a dog all day, nothing horrible had happened. Thinking I was home free, I settled in to watch the finale of American Idol .

And then it happened.

THE HORROR!

BO LOST!!

Damn you birthday curse!


I was checking out the ebay message boards today and found this post:

�I've been trying to win a pair of "Doggles" (dog sunglasses a la Snoopy Red Baron) for my Chihuahua . So I bid on this really low priced pair-won them for .01!!! Just had to pay reasonable shipping from Australia. After 6 wks they hadn't arrived-guy said he'd send me out several pairs to make up for lost ones. I was so excited. Finally get the package yesterday. They were dongles-whatever that is-some sort of computer parts!!! They were under Doggles in search and had no pic. I had asked the guy if they would fit a small Chihuahua and he said yes. We had some sort of language problem I could tell from his emails but this was so WAY OFF it was actually funny.�

And then � she posted this picture of her Chihuahua with the dongle (by the way, I know dongle sounds like a major euphemism but it is really a computer thingie). The pup does NOT look pleased:



I was already laughing my head off, and then I read this follow up post:

�I just can't STOP wondering what in the heck the guy in Australia THOUGHT when he answered that this "dongle" would fit the Chihuahua.�

Me neither.

11:41 p.m. - May 26, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle