sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You Probably Had To Be There


Warning! The Following Entry Contains You-Had-To-Be-There Humor, Also Some Poo

Hi my name is Lauren, and I am Easily Amused.

The Mom left last Thursday to go visit a friend in North Carolina. Tahmi offered to drop her at the airport, and then we would have a fun day in the big city.

It has been way too long since I did something fun. Between the getting out of town, and Tahmi's way cool car, I am surprised that I didn't hang my head out the window like a dog the whole way.

Highlights of the day follow:

1. GPS Poops. Tahmi's car has GPS and a screen that shows you a map of where you are. The first amusing thing about this was the little marks the system leaves on your route to show you where you have been. They call them "breadcrumbs". I call them GPS poops. I then proceeded for the rest of the trip to be just a little too excited when the GPS pooped.

2. Virtual Off-Roading. The GPS system uses maps that are not quite up to date for our little corner of Iowa. The road we were on was re-routed around a teeny little town a few years back, but the GPS doesn't know it. When we hit the section of road that is not mapped right, the GPS System first tried to franatically find a road, and then gave up, and showed us in the middle of nothing.

3. Speeding Ticket. Probably not a highlight for Tahmi. There is a short stretch of road between the highway and the airport. We were running late, and the Tahmi-mobile doesn't like to go slow. So we kinda got caught going 18 miles an hour over the speed limit. And really the only reason I'm mentioning this, is that the cop didn't ask for Tahmi's registration and proof of insurance - NO FAIR!

4. Coffee at Starbucks. Only notable event was me not being able to remember the words "Adult Onset ADHD", which probably means I have it.

5. The Handbag. I do not need a handbag. I have plenty already. Did that stop me from buying the buttery soft pebble-leather Tommy Hilfiger with the cool strap detailing at the the consignment store? Nosirree I didn't. I probably could have resisted, but it was HALF PRICE. So I paid what I would have had to pay for a Wal Mart Plinyl purse, and got a a purse that is so cool I want to marry it. Also some pants.

6. SUSHI!! I am still shocked that I am addicted to a food product that is low calorie and healthy, but don't want to look that particular gift horse in the mouth.

7. Giant Poo and a Snort. After a busy afternoon of shopping, Tahmi and I needed more caffeine, so we went to Barnes & Noble to recharge. Tahmi went to the rest room, and when she came back she laughing so hard so couldn't speak. After about 20 minutes of my sympathetic hysterical laughter, Tahmi finally was able to gasp out that the world's largest poo had been in the toilet of the first stall she had tried, and that she was afraid to flush it because it didn't look like it would fit down the pipe. This led to further conversation, including how it could not have come from a real woman, and that it was probably Mr. Hanky's large Italian overweight uncle. The piece de resistance, however was when Tahmi, still laughing, walked up to the counter to return a plate, and snorted. There just isn't a right thing to say when you snort at a barista, so Tahmi bought some books and we left.

8. More Pants. Scored some really nice Jones New York pants for 5 bucks at another consignment store. They are soft and comfortable, and they are now my favorite pants.

That's about it. Picked up some take-out sushi on the way home - because you can never have too much sushi, and watched the GPS poops on the way home. Yeah. I know. Gotta get out more.

2:04 p.m. - January 30, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle