sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bad Week, Bad!

Bad Week, Bad!

You know how when you�re trying to do something positive for yourself, maybe something that is not all that easy. And you know how sometimes you�re having kind of a bad month, and maybe some jerk broke your heart. And really all need is just an itsy bitsy bit of support from The Powers That Be, but apparently the TPTB have a wacky sense of humor and think it�s FUNNY to mess with you? Yes that is the kind of week I have been having.

Let me start at the beginning. I have decided to lose weight and get in better shape. And while I am not yet shopping for size 0 jeans or anything (which will happen � never), my much larger than size 0 jeans that for awhile now I have not been exactly able to button, are now fitting. So far so good.

My friend Terry and I decided that we would work out together and then set out on a quest to figure out what to do. We really have three choices here in small town. Curves, Ladies Fitness Express (like Curves), and the Rec Center, which is a gym owned by the city. They all had their pros (Curves and LFE no grunting sweating men, idiot-proof workout routine) and cons (Rec Center � we would have to figure out what to do ourselves), and after much consideration decided to hire a personal trainer for a session or two, and get a good weight and cardio routine going at the Rec Center.

So last Saturday, we had our first workout with trainer. It went fine � he showed us how to use the machines and weights, and I discovered that I had apparently been in the bathroom when they were handing out triceps � oh and abs too. I asked him if I should be taking notes and he said it was not necessary � he would write everything down for us. When our hour was up, he tore two sheets from his notebook and handed them to me. I paid him, and as he started to walk away, I said, �Excuse me, shouldn�t we also be doing some cardio?�

And he replied, �Sure, if you want.", and left.

GAH! No trainer �approved 30 minute cardio plan apparently

So Terry and I trooped up the 3 flights of stairs to the cardio room, where I was reunited with my BFF the elliptical machine, and Terry rode a bike.

All seemed to be going fairly well until Monday morning when Terry and I got up at the crack of dawn and went to work out at 8 am. I cheerfully pulled out my notes from the trainer, and this is what we saw:



Chinese Chicken Writing!



It was Chinese! Written by a chicken!!! We squinted, and tried to figure out what the notes said, and finally gave up and just started using the machines we remembered, and guessed about how much weight to use. I was somewhat irritable at this point, due to some sort of combination of getting up way too early and desperately trying to do a proper workout with only Chinese Chicken Writing to assist.

And then the elliptical machines were all taken, so we went for a walk in the park, with me whining quite a bit about the hill at the end, but I managed to make it without having to have Terry push me up the hill or drag me or anything, so I guess all�s well that ends well. But I�m still kind of crabby.

9:47 p.m. - March 13, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle