sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Hate Auto Parts, also Inappropriate Crush of the Week

I Hate Auto Parts, also Inappropriate Crush of the Week

I took my car in for an oil change on Thursday, and when I dropped her off I mentioned that she seemed to be losing power when I run the air conditioner. Now I am not normally a superstitious person, but ever since my car died on the highway, right after a few oil changes ago, I've had a bad feeling whenever I take my car into the mechanic. I may need to sacrifice some chickens or something, because this time I was informed that my car is running on only 3 cylinders. The irony is that I really didn't notice, as even when the Corollamobile is running on all four, I still can barely make it up slight inclines.

I asked the mechanic dude what that meant, in other words, am I going to have to have a meth lab in my basement to fund making my car run on all of her cylinders again? The answer was, well could just be spark plugs (cheap), or could need the engine rebuilt (bloody expensive), and that they can't look at my car until next Wednesday. I hopefully asked if it would be okay to drive my car to Iowa City for a scheduled shopping/sushi expedition, and he said no. Gah!

Then Friday, the day I was taking off to go to Iowa City - except now without the going to Iowa City part, I stopped into the office to get a few things done. My boss offered to change my spark plugs for me. Which was very nice of him, and he said all I had to do was go the auto parts store, tell them the make and model of my car, and they would hand me the proper spark plugs and wires for my car.

I drove (on 3 cylinders) to the auto parts store, optimistically told them I needed spark plugs and wires for an '88 Corolla, and 30 something bucks later I had car parts. I drove back to the office (still with 3 cylinders) and handed the boss the pile of car parts. Which were not right. Maybe the spark plugs were, but the wires were way too short, and my car apparently requires a special-sized socket thingie that the boss did not have.

Back to the auto parts store. I handed them a spark plug and another thing that the boss had sent with me and said I needed the thingie that connects the two, and also told them the wires were way short. They found the socket thingie, asked me something about a "dual cam", which sounds cool, but I have no idea what it means, and pulled out longer wires, which only came with a distributor cap attached. So now we were were up to sixty something bucks, and I hopefully drove back the office (on 3 cylinders).

The distributor cap did not fit, and neither did the socket. By now I had spent all morning driving back and forth to the auto parts store, was hot tired and cranky, and was suspecting that even if I drove back and forth to the auto parts store a hundred more times, I would still not end up with the right stuff.

So I gave up, will take my car in for her appointment Wednesday, and hope and pray that she only needs spark plugs, and I also have NO PROBLEM paying nine zillion dollars an hour for labor, because it beats driving back and forth to the auto parts store for ETERNITY.


Okay, I know Gordon Ramsay is pretty much an asshole. I know he swears more than any other human being on earth. I know that the bleep people for Hells Kitchen have an easy job because they just basically hold the bleep key down whenever Gordon opens his mouth. So what is with me all of a sudden getting an enormous crush on him when he was so sweet when Jessica was eliminated? Please explain.


Today I was in the kitchen, and all of a sudden music started blaring from my office. The hell? I finally realized that Teeny must have turned on my CD player, and yelled at him to turn it off. AND HE DID. I have a witness. And Teeny is a total GENIUS.

3:30 p.m. - July 30, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle