sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2005 Accomplishment

2005 Accomplishment

One of my greatest accomplishments in 2005 was getting a NEW CAR. I went from this:



1988 Corolla. With Rust. And the Stallies


To this:



Vibe!


Now before I got my new car, everyone wanted to buy the old one. As soon as it was available, not so much. The guy who wanted to buy the Corolla to use in the demo derby? Already found another car. The mechanic who sometimes worked on the car? Not interested anymore.

I prepared myself for lots of poster�making, and technical questions regarding the car, such as �Does it have fuel injection or a carburetor?�. To which I would respond, �Dude, I can�t even spell carburetor, heck if I know!�

Also, being a responsible adult, upon the purchasing of the new car, I of course called my insurance agent, got insurance for new car, and told him I would let him know when to remove insurance from old car.

Way back in September I "sold" the car to a guy for $200 cash and 20 hours of work. This was way cool because I was going to finally get the freaking drywall in my living room fixed, and a bunch of other stuff that needed doing. The guy gave me a check for $200 - so far so good - and then over the next few months proceeded to not show up to do work over and over again. I finally had to give up and gave him back $150 of his deposit, and kept $50, because I had the expense of paying insurance on the car, etc.

Right before I did the whole make Car for Sale posters and plaster them all over town thingie, on a whim I listed the car on a local classified ad Yahoo group that had just started. I got an email from a woman near Des Moines who was very interested in the car, and the next Saturday she drove down to have a look. Now as I am sure I have mentioned, the old Corolla has some stalling issues which nobody seems to be able to figure out. I made sure that my prospective buyer knew what was going on, and then about died when the Corolla-mobile proceeded to stall like 100 times when Stephanie, the prospective buyer tried to start her.

Once the car was actually running, Stephanie took her for a test drive, decided she was interested, and after driving all over town trying to find a mechanic who would do an inspection and not finding anyone who could, I let Stephanie take the car home (80 miles away) with her to get checked out locally. While I was in Sacramento, Stephanie decided she did want the car and Paypalled me the money, and sent me back my plates.

Yesterday I called my insurance agent to cancel the insurance on the Corolla, and he put me on hold, came back on the phone, and said, �Umm I cancelled it on August 19th�. Causing me to have a retroactive heart attack. I had been driving the car, I had loaned it to Jodi, it had been driven to KNOXVILLE. ALL WITH NO INSURANCE. And it STALLS. Gah! My insurance agent and I laughed nervously and we hung up, with me realizing I had been totally uninsured, but that also, hey, I had saved a bunch of money.

The moral of the story? If you are accidentally uninsured, it is better not to know, because if you did know you would immediately get into a 20 car pileup.

9:33 a.m. - January 09, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle