sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2002, The Year in Review

2002, The Year in Review

Here are things I learned in 2002, in no particular order:

1. I learned that the world doesn�t come to an end if you have to go bankrupt, and actually things get better. I also learned that being in a financial position where you don�t have to earn big bucks to survive is a wonderful place to be. I learned that being able to pay all my bills is cool, and that the County Treasurer�s office really couldn�t care less if you pay your property taxes two months late. When I went to go pay my taxes, finally, I joked that I was afraid they would take me out back and beat me or something. The always-serious-woman-behind-the-counter-who-I-have-never-seen-smile said, with a totally straight face, �Naaw we only do that after three months�.

2. I learned, just this morning as a matter of fact, that everything you need to know about life can be learned by watching Ally McBeal. Dame Edna talking with Ally about her fear of love: � The funny thing about love is it�s the one game you lose by refusing to play.� Words to live by.

3. Part two of the Ally wisdom occurred when John Cage finally worked up his courage to tell Ally he loved her. Ally told him she loved him too, just not the same way. And John said, �That�s the trouble I suppose in coming at people with honesty, they sometimes counter with it.� I was so proud of John for finally expressing how he felt, and it really hit me how dumb it is not to. He took the chance, and however it turned out, he won. Not expressing your feelings is a no-win situation, you�re not even giving them a chance.

Not expressing my feelings has been my specialty up til now. One of the greatest things about the dude is that he brings out the honest in me. I promised myself, and him, that no matter what I am going to express myself. And so far I�ll give myself an 8/10. Not bad for a beginner huh?

4. I have gotten in touch with my inner cat person. My inner dog person is still alive and well too, but who knew I also had an inner cat person?

5. I learned that Tivos are the very best invention of the 20th century.

6. I learned that the only thing worse than not having broadband internet access is having flakey broadband internet access.

7. I learned that while giving is easy and fun for me, receiving ain�t easy. I�d rather chew my own arm off than ask someone for help, which is probably why I�m in situation where I might need to. My sewer is bad, and pretty much the whole pipe has to be replaced. Just the part that intersects the street will probably cost $2500. Plus the rest. And I don�t have $2500, let alone the rest. I�m hoping that this time next year I�m writing about how it wasn�t a big deal to ask for help.

8:28 p.m. - December 23, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle