sunshine0221's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sukup for Governor

Sukup for Governor

My dad�s been visiting. Stayed in Cedar Rapids last night and got him on his flight early this morning. I dropped him off at the airport entrance and then went to park the car. They search your vehicle now if you are going to the terminal or short term parking. I didn�t notice that there was a short term parking entrance at the other end of the airport so I went back through the security check area like a dork, then missed the short term parking entrance and thought I was going to have to go through for a third time. Was afraid they would arrest me for being stupid, but finally spied the Entrance On the Other Side and parked.

Spending time with my dad is not easy.

Intellectually I know that who my dad is and how he behaves is no reflection on me, but deep down inside there is voice that keeps saying, �If you had been better, smarter, prettier, someone else, he would have loved you�. I would like to, right now, officially kick that little voice�s ass, and truly believe that my dad�s lack of compassion, insensitivity, and self centeredness are his issues not mine.

My dad is getting old. I�m trying to achieve some closure. Being that this is real life not a movie, I think it may end up being resolved in an unresolved kind of way.

Buffy, who has absolutely no problems expressing her real feelings, kept hissing at him. (Buffy, by the way, is not a weird hissing person. She is a cat.)

One funny moment, there was a sign for someone running for Governor on the way to the airport. The dude�s name is Sukup, which is bad enough, but when I mentioned it to my dad as we drove past it, he misheard me and said, �You�ve got someone named Fukup running for Governor???�. I know nothing about Mr. Sukup, or his politics, but I really hope he does not win. Iowa does not need another reason to get laughed at.

Left the airport at quarter to seven this morning. Went to the Super Wal Mart to kill some time until Barnes & Noble opened at 9:00 so that I could get a caffeinated beverage and bond with the books.

I didn�t really need anything at Wal Mart, but managed to power shop anyway. Bought a bag of key limes because they were cute, two shirts for my dad for his birthday, some Got2b playful texturizing cr�me pomade to make my hair chunky, the book Where the Heart Is because I loved the movie and books are usually 100 times better, and woohoo they had Fancy Feast for 27 cents a can so stocked up. For Buffy. Although I am in imminent danger of losing my job have not started eating cat food. Yet.

Drove to the Mall of Iowa, actually got a great parking space because nothing was open yet, and read my book (am at the part where Lola�s doggie has been kidnapped by evil drug flunkies and Max is about to go risk his former SEAL ass to save him) until B&N opened.

I love books. I love reading. And I love coffee. I could live at B&N. Grabbed some books, ordered a medium white mocha and parked myself in the caf� area. I had picked up two cookbooks � Wild Women In the Kitchen � 101 Rambunctious Recipes & 99 Tasty Tales (Recipes inspired by Wild Women throughout history) and Beat That!.

The Wild Women one is a perfect birthday gift for Kelly, who is my favorite Wild Woman, my good friend who I can get things pierced with and tell about even the stupidest things I do. I don�t think Kelly will read this and know what I got her.

Because she has a Mac.

Kelly, if you do read this, I apologize for teasing you about your Mac � just because it has no browser back button and can�t play mpg�s is no excuse for making fun.

Beat That! Is for Tahmi�s birthday, which isn�t for quite a while, which is good because I can torture her about it for a long time. Tahmi and cooking go together like ground turkey and floors. Which is exactly what happened when she made ground turkey. Twice.

It�s the coolest cookbook � great recipes and fun writing.

From The Breads and Breakfast Foods section: �My primary requirement for a good breakfast is that it wake people up without scaring them. Huevos rancheros would not, for me, meet this requirement. I think that greeting the day with huevos rancheros would be like attending a 7:00 a.m screening of The Texas Chainsaw Massacre. Kippers would present a similar problem, although I would happily eat smoked salmon for breakfast every day if my husband didn�t always finish it first.

I love leftover desserts for breakfast. In fact, I always bake an extra peach pie so we can eat it in the morning.

But I sometimes lose out on things like peach pie and smoked salmon because I tend to sleep later than the rest of my family. I�m still trying to decide whether it�s fair to insist that they leave me some, or whether it�s so corrupt to sleep late that all I deserve when I wake up is that stale cereal fuzz at the bottom of the Corn Pops box.�

The whole cookbook is this good. And it even has a recipe for Key Lime Pie. Knew I got that Sack o� Limes for a reason.

7:24 p.m. - May 08, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

porktornado
trancejen
twobaddogs
marn
hissandtell
idiot-milk
poolagirl
ann-frank
dangerspouse
purplecigar
lobsterchick
bluemeany
twelvebeer
juddhole
rickscafe
smartypants
crazy4muffin
bigpimpinmba
hooterville
mousemilk
essaywriter
hydrogeek
hollyfae
biodtl
pinkrevolver
catspajamas
reynedecoupe
yeahimadork
hairburner
haloaskew
toastcrumbs
geeked-out
gripewater
tattoobelly
dinahsoar
gumphood
nicim
batten
acaldwell
bonkrood
wickedcrazy
janetplnetoc
porchlife
not-a-finger
scotvalkyrie
danglemyfeet
reader1209
acecoolg
cunhell
katiedoyle